The Effect of Heat Input of GTAW Process on the Microstructure of the Heat Affected Zone in AISI D2 tool steel

AISI D2 is the most commonly used high-carbon and high-chromium cold-work tool steel. It has many attractive properties such as high wear resistance, high compressive strength, and high hardness after hardening which can be an advantage for a variety of industrial applications such as mill rolls, blanking dies, and punches. The steels of this group are considered as the most alloy steels [1]. Although these steels have the same chemical composition as stainless steels because of their high chromium contents they are prone to corrosion cause of the lower percentage of nickel than stainless steels[2]. Furthermore, they have higher hardness compared to stainless steel given their high percentage of carbon [1]. These steels are usually subject to heavy loads and abrasion. Surface defects because of wear, corrosion, and other degradation mechanisms will make these expensive tools leave the production cycle and impose heavy costs on industries. These steels obtain desirable abrasion properties from the presence of large values of carbon, chromium, and other alloying elements such as vanadium and molybdenum. however, the existence of these alloying elements in steel increases the hardness because of carbide formation that besides the advantages makes this steel weak in welding. The existence of large-scale cold cracks for these steels and the loss of dimensional accuracy are among the reported problems in welding parts made of this type of steel [3]. Preheating is necessary for welding these steels and it causes of reduces the thermal gradient between the weld zone and the heat affected zone, thereby reducing cracking, hardness and residual stresses in the HAZ are affected by reducing the cooling rate. Moreover, it prevents high heat shock due to welding [4]. Input heat is one of the most important welding parameters and the most effective element on the width and coarseness of the HAZ. Any change in this factor directly affects the HAZ. The input heat affects the grain growth in the area near the melting line. Moreover, the structure of the grains affects the strength, toughness, flexibility, and corrosion resistance of the alloy. Welding leads to internal stresses in the part that can be destructive and have adverse effects on the performance of the part. These internal stresses could result in warping, cracking (dimensional distortion), and even breaking of the part at stresses much lower than the stresses that the part is designed to withstand. PWHT increases the life of the part and its strength by eliminating or reducing internal stresses and reducing stiffness [5]. Thus, a correct understanding of the effects of input heat on the microstructure and properties of welded specimens is important. By observing the principles of heat treatment and performing pre-heating and post-heat at the proper temperature and welding with controlled heat and precise control of all welding parameters and variables, a good weld can be reached.