The effect of Globalization to the dissolution of cultural identity and ethnic diversity

Globalization has been a very popular issue in the world. The arguments between the drawbacks and positive effects in cultural identity and ethnic diversity have been the major discussion. In my view, I agree with the notion that local traditions are being devalued by this modernization. The modernization of globalization can directly affect the cultural diversity of a country. For example, the insurmountable influence of the internet and other social media affect the cultural views and belief of locals. Thus, the easy access to the internet allows people to connect and network with other countries and be exposed to their cultures. Thereby, in the countries of China and Iran, their government mandated to block numerous social media such as Facebook, Instagram, and Youtube. Hence, globalization tends to have tremendous effects in local and traditional clothing. Thereby, millennials in this generation have been imitating international fashion. As a result, the local wears are now being ignored. “millennials in this generation have been imitating international fashion” Globalization also influence the traditional food of a country, where the local economy is also affected. The widespread of international restaurants impacted the taste of choice of the locals. It is apparent that international cuisines are now being patronized by locals. For instance, the western food chain company Mcdonalds, which are present in almost all the countries in the world, is one of the most favorite. As a result, the local and traditional meals are being snubbed. Particularly, in the country of the Philippines where birthdays and fiestas are constantly celebrated. Most Filipinos prepare pancit and lechon as a traditional meal but in today’s generation, spaghetti and fried chicken are the main favorites. Thus, the traditional cuisines of a certain country are suffering. Overall, globalization has affected the culture and ethnic diversity of a country negatively. Furthermore, the drawbacks outweigh the advantages.