The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language In the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having one language in the world?

Nowadays, the English Language is becoming the most widely used language by people all over the world because of the increasing tourism sector. Although one language in the world will result in eradication of communication barriers between countries, it will also affect their own culture. To commence with the benefit, the problem of communicating with other countries will be solved if there would be only one language used by all the people. It would make it easy for local people and top officials also to understand each other very easily without any effort of translating in their own language. As the countries will be able to solve any disputes, discussing any important issue and trade with different countries, without any noticeable effort. For example, it is found that the English language is used by mostly all the countries and this helped in improving the personal relationship better all over the world. Therefore, having one language is advantageous for the world in making personal relations better. Despite this merit, there are ample drawbacks. One of the important demerits is the culture of their own country will be adversely affected. If people will become used to the English language, their own language will not be used anywhere outside and inside their home. For instance, many countries are now not using their own language for communication. So, by using one language, the cultural diversity of countries will be demolished. To conclude, having one language is advantageous for all countries, but maintaining their own culture and language is equally important.