In many countries, governments spend a lot of money celebrating national holidays and festivals. However, some people think that spending money on these celebrations is a waste. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Celebrating national days and occasions are common for numerous nations around the world. For the celebration of these events, the state provides funds and venues. It is believed by some that this funding is unnecessary and the government should not put money on them. I do not agree this statement. These holidays and festivals are highly significant for every country. they bring people closer as a nation and can reignite the passion of patriotism amongst them. In most countries, for instance, the governments spend high amount of money on the celebration of their independence day. The state also organizes multiple events in all their major cities. People are highly encouraged to attend them to remember their independence movement and pay tribute to the heroes who contributed to their freedom. It is important for the nation to remember them and their sacrifices as they move forward. People learn their national and cultural values through festivals. On such occasions, the public gets a chance to fully experience the morals and heritage of their nation. In Pakistan, for instance, there is a grand festival held by the government each year. Since the country has a diverse range cultures in all its provinces, these interactive events serve as a platform to display all of them. This not only brings their people closer, but also serves as a reminder that they are one nation with many colors. In conclusion, spending government funds on national days and occasions has a high significance. These events allow people to understand all the cultures of their nation which brings them to come close together as one.