People nowadays send text messeges more frequently than talk on the phone. What are the reasons for this trend? Do the advantages of texting outweigh the disadvantages.

Due to the advancement of cellphone technology, it is much more convenient to send an instant message rather to call someone directly on their phone. Individuals are widely using it for both personal and professional communication. Due to this, it has become a crucial part of daily routine. I will discuss some advantages and will also include some disadvantages of this trend. Sending a message much cheaper than a phone call. Mobile applications such as whatsapp messenger, enables users having working internet connection to send text messages free of cost. It has become useful tool to send notifications and reminders to others. For instance, if a person is occupied in a meeting or in class and is unable to picking up a call, leaving an instant message on their phone can notify them later about the reason of that call. Despite the usefulness of messaging, there are some problems as well. People these days, are spending more time on their cellphones as a result of this. More of them are developing optical problems due to the excessive use of mobile screen. Text messages are also distracting. There is an overwhelming urge to constantly check our phones for texts. Students who carry their phones to schools tend to use them in class and pay least attention to the lectures being delivered. To sum up, text messaging is much cheaper than a phone call and can help getting notification across without creating disturbance. But despite this, it is becoming problematic as people are using their phone for extended time. I think that there are more benefits associated with this trend as it is an easier way to communicate.