The demand for cosmetic surgery is increasing dramatically. Is such surgery positive or negative?

The saying “do not judge a book by its cover” has totally lost its value in today’s society because people are heavily judging others based on their beauty. As a result, an increasing number of them are undergoing surgery which aims to improve their appearance, which I think should be seen as positive. First, by undergoing such surgery some people might be able to get their dream job. For example, many young people are eager to pursue their career path in modeling and acting where a great deal of importance is placed on beauty. If slightly changing their appearance means they are given the chance of getting their job, which they have been dreaming of, I think it is positive to lie down on the operating couch and achieve their dreams. This will also help them fit in their society. Unfortunately, we are living in a world which has become so much concerned about the outward beauty of individuals rather than their inward beauty. In addition to this, many people are ignored by their friends and colleagues, simply because they are not good looking enough. If such surgery helps people who are not gifted in terms of beauty to fit in their society, I believe this is what they do need to accept. Finally, surgery of this kind is found to be helpful in maintaining relationships. Studies have shown that many divorce cases took place due to the fact that the couples were not happy enough about their appearance. Also, men are often believed to be dissatisfied with their significant others’ beauty, as they are prone to compare them with those highly “filtered” models on social media. Therefore, in order to keep their relationships healthy and lost-lasting, I think women in particular should agree with plastic surgery. In short, although some people who criticize plastic surgery disagree with me, I think such sacrifice is what helps people to pursue their dream career path, enjoy their social life and better their personal relationships.