The deadly coronavirus COVID-19 has spread to at least 69 countries, affecting all aspects of life. As part of its disastrous influence, Vietnamese schools at all levels have been closed for more than a month. There is a common argument that children should be allowed to go back to school for the sake of themselves, their family and the whole society. How far do you agree with this opinion?

Despite the coronavirus disease 2019, some people hold the thought that it is necessary for students to go to school. Personally, I disagree with this idea and will discuss several compelling reasons in this essay. Firstly, the facilities of educational centres in Vietnam are not sufficiently developed to ensure the safety of children. In mountainous and rural areas, most schools do not yet have the health care system, as well as the necessary medical care equipment. Moreover, students going to school will also face the spread of disease due to the shortage of medical masks. As a result, schools might become the ideal environment for the epidemic. Secondly, the incubation period for this new disease is very long, and nobody can deny its complexity; therefore, it seems to be difficult to control the disease in schools. During the Tet holiday, many families take their children to travel in many places, so no one can be sure no child will get sick without any outward appearance. Moreover, children in this age are often hyperactive and not as alert as the adults while their immune system have not developed fully. It is very challenging to make sure that they will strictly follow the rules of medical examination such as wearing masks, restricting going out and washing their hands often. In conclusion, I do believe that we should consider carefully about the potential risks that children will have to face up to when they go back to school. The government should develop online learning forms to overcome this period. .