The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit. What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in society?

Smoking is injurious to health. This statement is well-known, however, people still fail to understand its implications and continue to smoke. Cigarettes are often pushed through media and marketing or even peer pressure and this habit can be eradicated through family support combined with awareness campaigns. Generally, impressionable young adults get started on cigarettes because they are often advertised to be "cool" by various media such as movies, books and celebrity endorsements. Teenagers view these sources of entertainment and imitate this action as their way of being similar to their favourite celebrity leading to the building of this bad habit. Similarly, peer pressure is another reason why people pick up habitual smoking. They are forced by their friends or close circle to smoke once or twice eventually leading to addiction. Although everyone recognizes the impact of smoking on their health, they do not quite grasp the gravity of the repercussions. If we want people to quit this atrocious addiction, we first have to make them realize how painful and deadly the continuation would be. For instance, the Nepali government ordered cigarette manufacturers to print the aftermath of long-term smoking on product packaging. This caused smokers to be horrified at the effects of their habits compelling them to reflect on their choices. Another way we can encourage users to stop is by showing emotional support pushing them to quit smoking. This can prove to be effective as people who continue using cigarettes can be depressed or anxious, so family support can help them get rid of this habit. In conclusion, smoking can have a scary impact on the life of users which is often promoted media and supported by peer groups. This habit can be discouraged by emotional support and public awareness programs.