In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some countries is seen a tendency of convincing children to accomplish their goals regardless of many attempts. In this essay, I will examine the reasons for such encouragement and present its negative aspects. The first advantage is that if parents motivate and encourage their children to become ambitious and work hard, this might prevent them from focusing only on entertainment. For instance, they will prefer to read a book and rather than play video games or passive watching television. Increased commitment to their job is another beneficial aspect of their future life. Those workers will be trying to find a solution rather than give up on initial failure, which will help them climb the career ladder faster than other employees. Another point to consider is that parents do not allow their children to fail the test or have unsatisfied results. they pressurize the children to get the best marks at school due to higher expectations. If it is not emphasized to children that meaningful accomplishment happens over a long time frame and success is defined by effort and step-by-step progress, not by comparison with others, they might give up after several attempts. Those measures can lead to mental problems such as anxiety disorder and then depression. In conclusion, although children that can reach their dreams is truthful, it might be counterproductive causing anxiety and decreased self-assessment. I completely agree that they should be encouraged and motivated by their parents to achieve better results at school and in their future career.