The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit. What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in society?

It is widely known that smoking has detrimental effects on human health and it increases the risk of chronic diseases. Despite the knowledge, society is reluctant in stopping this dangerous habit. This essay will introduce the causes of this issue and it will also suggest solutions to it. Due to fast paced lifestyle, big proportion of society is exposed to high levels of stress which triggers them to start smoking as instant stress relief in this situations. Moreover, the nicotin, which has a relaxing effect when entering the bloodstream, is also the main ingridedient of ciggarettes and it is highly addictive. Therefore, the more person smokes, the more addictive it becomes. For example, from my own experience, I started smoking when I was in extremely stressful situation, it did have calming effect. Afterwards, it became a habit. Moreover, the body is asking for the dose of nicotine and it's very hard to resist. On the one hand, promoting alternative and effective stress relief options might partialy help in stopping non-smokers to reach for the cigarette in the first place. This should take place in educational facilities as the students are the most vulnerable to this addiction, not only because of stress levels in school, but also because of the influence the other youngsters have on them. On the other hand, if the government would significantly increase the tax on the cigarette smoke, this would be much more effective solution. In addition, it would reduce accesability to this product to young people and students, and it would also make noticable difference in the finances of the smokers who might consider to stop smoking in order to save money. For example, Germany already increased taxes on nicotine products, which makes it the country with most expensive ciggarettes, but it is also the country with the smallest percentage of smokers in Europe. Therefore, this solution is proven to be effective if the tax rate is considerable high. In conclusion, this essay disscused the causes of smoking including high levels of stres nowadays and nicotine as highly addictive ingredient of ciggarette smoke. This essay also suggested solutions such as promotion of alternative methods of stress relief and increasing tax rates on nicotine products.