It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Children are easily impressionable and naive during their formative years and as a result, they require appropriate guidance. It is very key for children to be educated on the difference between good and bad at a young age, and punishment is usually a tool employed to accomplish this goal. I completely disagree with this notion, and this essay will argue that punishment is detrimental to children in the long term. And will suggest the sort of punishment parents and teachers should utilize to teach children good behavior. It is becoming increasingly popular nowadays to hear people argue that the concept of punishing children for bad conduct is beneficial. Many parents tend to physically or verbally punish their young children, and they argue that punishment works faster to stop bad behavior. For example, a toddler throwing a tantrum might immediately stop after receiving punishment such as a couple of slaps or being yelled at. This gives the parents the impression that punishment is indeed beneficial and yields faster results. However, multiple studies carried out recently have shown that children who were often physically or verbally punished are more likely to exhibit negative physical and verbal traits. Therefore, punishment is in fact detrimental to young children. On the other hand, good discipline is a more effective means of helping children learn to distinguish between right and wrong attitudes. Children raised in an atmosphere of good discipline and love, generally turn out to be well-balanced adults with healthy self-esteem and respect for others. For example, child psychologists have observed that children raised in a loving household are not violent or aggressive unlike their counterparts in abusive homes. Good discipline is therefore the technique parents and teachers should employ. Rather than punishment, parents and teachers can instill discipline by: leading with good example, setting limits with clear and consistent rules, and being good listeners. In conclusion, this essay has argued that punishment is definitely not the appropriate means to correct young children and help them distinguish between right or wrong. Loving discipline is preferable and has been proven to benefit children in the future.