Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Nowadays university students have a variety of choices with regard to study courses. Some individuals argue that university students should have freedom to choose whatever study subject they desire whereas, other people are deeply opposed to that idea and are of the opinion that university students should study courses that are guaranteed to be useful in the future such as science and technology. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument in detail and provide evidence as to why studying a desired subject is superior. The decision to to choose a course of study based on one’s personal interest is far much better than choosing to study a subject based on perceived future benefits. A university student is more likely to excel in a study subject he is genuinely interested in because he will dedicate more time studying and doing research as he finds it very enjoyable. As a result the student invests more time and energy to that subject. A study carried out recently at the Washington State University revealed that over 82% of university students who chose a study subject in an area of great interest graduate with outstanding grades. In addition to better school performance, university students who choose to study preferred subjects generally experience better job satisfaction in the future. This is in contrast to their counterparts who chose to study subjects not due to any personal interest but because they thought those subject would be useful in the future. For example, a cross-section study done during a 3 - year period among medical practitioners in southeast Asia revealed that among the population of medical doctors persuaded by family members to study medicine only 25% of them reported having job satisfaction. In conclusion, I strongly agree with the argument that university students, should be allowed to study subjects of their choice as this often results in excellent school performance and overall job satisfaction.