The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit. What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in society? jxxy

Nowadays, increasing number of people suffer from numerous critical diseases namely cancer, due to consumption of cigarettes. The effects of smoking are well-known by the society, however many individuals are continuing this habit, because cigarettes are highly addictive. This essay will examine possible reasons behind this phenomenon and provide possible solutions to decrease smoking rate within society. Firstly, peer pressure is one of main reasons of smoking within teenagers. Young people always try to be on trend and follow their friends habits, due to the fact that they want to be involved and accepted by their friends. For instance, most recent research findings show that in United States of America, more than 65% of current smokers started smoking in their high school years with their friends. Secondly, smokers often state that smoking helps them reduce their stress level. Although this is not an actual fact, this is the second key reason behind this addiction. Even though they know the consequences of smoking, they become so dependent on it to deal with their stress and anxiety. Lastly, smoke industry is an extremely important revenue source for the governments. They get great amount of tax returns from imported cigarettes and that is why inadequate action is taken to reduce smoking. On the other hand, smoking can be reduced in the population by obtaining healthy habits researched by health experts. Regular exercising is one of the best methods of reducing the craving for the additives in the cigarettes. In addition, during school hours, one or two classes can be dedicated regularly to raise awareness towards smoking and the effects of it. Moreover, governments should stop thinking about the income they get from smokers, they should minimise the areas of allowed smoking and higher cigarette prices should be set to make them less affordable for public. In conclusion, although most of the population is aware about effects of smoking, there is a continuous tendency towards this addiction. Individuals should try achieve a healthier lifestyle by working out daily and governments should impose more strict rules.