Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, online learning is becoming popular. Many universities offer online courses for their students. In this essay, we will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of studying online and explain why it is a positive development. Some students prefer online studying as it has two major advantages. Firstly, it is convenient. Indeed, students can interact with their professors and fellow peers using a laptop without attending lectures and tutorials on campus. Secondly, online learning is cheaper than traditional learning in classrooms. For instance, students don't have to pay for transportation, food, and other services at the university. They stay at home and study. Overall, studying on the internet has many benefits, especially the convenience and cost-saving. On the other hand, there is a proportion of students who believe that studying in classrooms is better than online studying. Online learning has disadvantages, it makes the relationships between students weak. As students don't go to university they will not meet new friends and spend time with them. In addition, it is much more difficult than attending lectures. On-campus, students can talk to the professors face to face and ask them directly about any idea they don't understand in the lecture. Whereas, in online learning, students depend more on themselves. In short, studying online is not a good choice regarding building relationships as well as it is difficult. In conclusion, studying on the internet has many positive and negative aspects. In this essay, we explained the most important ones. From my point of view, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Online studying saves money, time, and effort, so it is a beneficial development