The current trend in education is to move away from traditional exams and instead have continuous assessment over the school year. What do you think of this trend?

It is irrefutable to say that there have been many changes in education system over the years. In recent days, student's performance have been judged more frequently in assessments as compared to traditional annually examination approach. This essay will analyse the positive and negative effects of this new trend. To begin with, the continous assessments throughout the year assist students to know where they stand in class ranking. Owning to the grades of class test, they can easily know their grip in different subjects and invest time accordingly for the holistic development of academic course. For instance, the regular tests approach could tell clearly what are weak areas, and give them a chance to improve before the end of session as compared to traditional approach wherein students have to repeat the whole class again. Thus, continuous assesments surely benefitting the students to improve the class grades over the school year. However, these regular assessments sometimes create unneccessary pressure on school childern. Owing to fact that, students have to be active learner through whole year rather than learning once before exams in conventional way. For example, 70% of the schools in India, do have monday tests in schools which have burdened students over weekends and might not let them enjoy the holidays. Therefore, continuos evaluation might burden pupil, and do not let them follow the hobbies of their interests due to lack of time apart from studies. To conclude, considering the advantages and disadvantages of continuous grading, I think education structure should have blending of a few mid-term test and exams, and give students enough time to prepare and follow their interests for potential growth.