The crime rate by young people can be reduced by teaching parents parenting skills.

In recent times, crimes committed by the young generation is increasing at an alarming rate. It is often argued by some people that bad parenting is the major cause of the problem and parents should acquire good parenting skills. However, I completely disagree with the aforementioned statement and will discuss the same in this essay. To commence with, the primary reason for the increase in the crime rate among teenagers is the influence of social media, and survival games. Most importantly, students tend to copy things from their action heroes in movies rather than their parents. Alcohol consumption and smoking are considered great and glorious deeds by youngsters because they believe that these habits can make them Superheroes like their role models. For instance, survival video games like pubg and San Andreas can make young minds crueller when they are addicted to them. Many news reports recently show the after-effects of these games in young children. Secondly, the absence of strict laws and punishment make the young generation fearless. Although there are Juvenile courts and Juvenile homes in every country, the punishment for minor criminals only exists for 6 months to 1 year. Therefore, young people start from small crimes and gradually becomes a notorious criminal. A perfect example of this is the Nirbhaya case in Delhi where the minor culprit got released after six months of imprisonment. Even though parenting can influence a child's behaviour all these above-mentioned things can increase the Juvenile crime rate. In conclusion, reducing juvenile crime by teaching parents good parenting skills is not an effective method because it cannot reduce the exposure of the young generation to social media. Strict laws are the best way to overcome this detrimental issue.