The Covid-19 pandemic has brought upon a new normal in our lives. This has also brought upon a new working culture – the work from home culture. What are four (4) skills staff members should possess in order to survive and thrive in the workplace post-Covid?

Is it important for an employee to have different skills during and after Covid-19? Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, it has brought us a new lifestyle. It brought a lot of changes to our lives. One of the big changes is the work form home culture. The pandemic was not only bringing changes to us but it also brought bad effects to the whole world. The economy came to a standstill. Many people lost their jobs and some are facing pay cut. There are plenty of unknowns about how a post-Covid world would look like and what are the new challenges that waiting for us. So, what can employees do to ensure that they are strong enough to overcome the challenges? What skills should employees develop in order to survive in the post-Covid workplace? In this article, we will discuss four important skills that employees should posses - leadership skills, technology skills, adaptability to change and emotional and communication intelligence. One of the skills that staff members should possess in order to survive and thrive in the workplace post-Covid is leadership skills. First of all, all the managers should possess leadership skills so that they can motivate and engage their teams. Managers or supervisors play an important role to lead their team to success in a company. Therefore, managers with the skills may become stronger leaders and guide their teams successfully. Leadership skills are not only about managing or supervising others. It is also a skill that can convey strategy and vision. Besides the management teams, all staff members should learn the skills so that they can share the ideas together and work effectively to get through the tough time. According to Stephanie L (2021), anyone can indicate good leadership. Besides leadership skills, technology skills are important for staff members too. Before the pandemic, technological skills have become a big trend. It is essential to global people, not only to the young generation but to the elderly too. We are using technology every day. Thus, it is a must skill for each employee especially for those who work from home. For instance, some companies may have their meetings or training through online. In addition, management teams or staff may also need to do their virtual presentation. Therefore, they should master the tools for meeting and presentation. With the rapid development of the network, a lot of businesses promote their products and events through online. So, employees are required to learn how to use social media tools. Employees with the technology skills may work efficiently and they are always better at multitasking. A good staff should often have adaptability to change. Having adaptability skills show that you are willing to learn new things and take on new challenges. According to Timsofindia. com (2020), the pandemic has brought many changes to our lives and there will be more changes in the future. Due to the changes, staff members should constantly learn new skills to overcome it. Being adaptable at work shows how motivated you are and it is also important when developing strategies and working on projects. These are all great values that employers always look for from the employees. Additionally, staff members who have to cope with their jobs and family should manage their time well. Due to the work from home culture, many employees are required to stay at home to work and in the meantime, they need to take care of their family too. Therefore, they should have the ability to change their lifestyle. Those who are unwilling to change will be eliminated by the society. According to Aazean Aida Mujahid (2020), adaptability skill is skill high in demand. Last but not least, employees should have emotional and communication intelligence. Being emotionally intelligent means someone who is open-minded and has the ability to manage own emotions in positive ways. Emotional intelligence is an important skill to avoid making decisions based on emotions or gut feelings. For example, people who work from home may easily become emotional due to the multitasking of their jobs and family. So, they may make wrong decisions. Furthermore, it helps us to have the ability to empathize with others. We should help each other so that we can get through the hard time and overcome the new challenges. Emotions and communication are always related. Emotional intelligence can improve one’s communication skill. A person with high emotional quotient may communicate better with others. It may improve relationships between colleagues. It helps the team to work together and work effectively. According to Stephanie L (2021), there is still a need for genuine human connection and understanding in every job role. These are the four useful skills that all employees should develop in order to get stronger and thrive in the post-Covid 19 workplace. In conclusion, leadership skills, technology skills, adaptability to changes and emotional and communication intelligence can benefit staff members for their work. As the saying goes, live and learn, we should keep learning new things and have a heart that willing to change so that we can overcome the new challenges and get through the hard times. We should believe that people with different skills may have better chances of survival.