The cost of flying has decreased significantly over the last decade. This has made oversea travel much more accessible. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

International flights prices have dropped substantially over the last decade, and they will more than likely continue to decrease. While this trend has allowed many more people to travel to many more places, providing both cultural, professional and personal benefits, the negative impacts cannot be ignored. In this essay, I will outline these positive aspects of this increase in air travel and explain the serious environmental impact it is having. From an individual’s perspective, affordable airfares have brought great advantages. Whereas in the past, interstate or international travel was limited to the wealthy, it is now possible for almost everyone. An Indian student can travel abroad to gain a qualification at a foreign university, for instance. Such an experience can have a profound impact on their life, and they can still fly back home whenever necessary, thereby maintaining connections and relationships. For business people too, this ease of travel allows new avenues to be explored more easily than via phone or video conferencing. Holiday-makers too reap the benefits of cheap travel as they are able to vacation anywhere in the world nowadays. There are, however, more downsides associated with increased air travel. The most significant relates to the environment. Indeed, airplane emissions contribute to greenhouse gases which are directly responsible for climate change. The more people fly, the more polluted the air becomes. There is also the destinations to consider. Bali is a classic example of a pristine paradise that has been destroyed and corrupted by foreign tourists who litter and wreak havoc on the beach, waterways and natural wilderness areas. Such issues can be irreversible and are a direct result of increased tourism. In conclusion, on the surface, greater access to air travel may seem to be a positive thing, particularly in terms of individual growth. The ecological problems that stem from this, however, can be devastating, not only for the destination but for the whole planet.