Crime rate in most countries is often higher in urban areas than in rural areas. why do you think that is? what can be done to reduce crime rate

It is believed that the number of people committing crime in urban areas is mostly higher than that in rural areas in most countries. While there are various reasons for this problem, some solutions could be taken to reduce the crime rate. The population in cities is increasing dramatically. Therefore, there is fewer job opportunities, accommodation and so on. Because of unemployment and high cost of living in urban areas, people cannot afford even basic necessities such as food and clothing. As a result, these people would turn to crime such as drugs trafficking, robbery or even human trafficking to earn money. The other reason is that the gap between poor and rich people is becoming wider and wider. Social inequalities is increasing as a consequence. Since the poor could not pay the tuition fees for their offsprings to go to school, some of those children would be attracted to using drugs. In short, widening gap between rich and poor also lead to rising criminals. In order to deal with increasing crime rate, government should take strong measures such as punishing offenders severely. Longer sentence could help to deters rising crime. Moreover, government opportunities and local authorities should also create more and more educational opportunities for needy to narrow the rich-poor gap down. Besides, people should give criminals a chance to reintegrate into society after they are released. This will discourage them from committing crime again.