The coronavirus pandemic has changed our lives. Schools are closed, and we’re confined to our home. Your school has, as a result, switched to remote learning. What do you think about this kind of study? Reason your answer with any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With the current rampage of the novel coronavirus Covid-19, our daily lives have been tremendously altered, with schools being shut down, and us being sealed inside our home. As a consequence, online learning has become a necessity, and schools have made the transition towards said methodology of teaching. This essay will state my viewpoint regarding this mean of studying. First and foremost, remote learning is no longer an alternative for the time being, but a requirement. Therefore, we must accept that fact, and work around it. That said, there are several key benefits of this method, one being its flexibility. Online teaching has enabled us to introduce significantly higher levels of adaptability in our schedules, due to its inconsistent nature. Furthermore, we get to attend classes in the comfort of our dwellings, which allows said upside by removing variables such as traffic jams, late buses, etc. A second advantage is that the advent of remote learning has assisted us in cutting down on various expenditures, for instance, travel costs, most notably being petrol and public transport spending, and, despite being by chance, many nations have announced a reduction in tuition fees consequently to their inability to maintain the same quality of teaching you get in traditional classes, one example being Vietnam’s decision to drop teaching cost by 50% until schools reopen. However, this mean of learning also presents us with its own fair share of hinderances. Mainly, the flexibility of this methodology happens to be a double-edged blade. If the class schedules of schools alter overly rapid, it can transform from being adaptive to being disorganized. Many educational institutions have reported this issue, expressing their concern regarding it. Another worrying negative point is the prevalent situation of cheating and misconduct in exams. Even with strict monitoring, without being physically close to the candidates, teachers simply can’t keep watch of every movement of the people taking the exam. To summarize, while having developed impressively over the past few years, particularly during the era of Covid-19, remote studying is still too reliant on the attitude of students, and in my opinion, unfit to be implemented in schools until the aforementioned issues are addressed, but great for private institutions to present an alternative for learners.