The consumption of sugary drinks has significantly increased in recent years. The highly addictive ingredients in these beverages are the major reason for this, and several measures can be implemented to reduce sugar-sweetened beverage intake.

The consumption of sugary drinks has significantly increased in recent years. The highly addictive ingredients in these beverages are the major reason for this, and several measures can be implemented to reduce sugar-sweetened beverage intake. In terms of the principal reason behind the rise in sugar-based drink consumption, sugar and caffeine – the two most addictive properties found in most sugary beverages – are the main culprits. These substances give people an instant energy boost to help them focus more effectively on their work, but they also cause a drop in energy quickly after consumption so that they have to drink another one to get an extra boost. In addition, sugar is so addictive that many people find it impossible to quit consuming soft drinks or other sugar-based beverages. Those who stop drinking beverages with added sugar or other sweeteners for a short period of time might experience some common withdrawal symptoms, such as headaches, tiredness or poor concentration. A number of approaches can be taken to reduce the consumption of sugary drinks. A tax on such products might be an effective solution as people might think twice before buying a coke or a soda, for example. Another measure would be to limit advertisements promoting sugar-sweetened drinks that are directly targeted at children and young people. Instead, there should be more programmes, billboards and posters that educate on healthy eating and the health risks associated with the excessive consumption of sugar-based beverages. In conclusion, the addiction caused by some properties in sugary drinks is the primary reason why more and more people are consuming such products. Despite this, there are various actions that can be taken to discourage people from drinking sugary beverages.