The commercial agents in Vietnam legislation

In Vietnam, a commercial agency is one of the commercial intermediary activities. In a centrally planned economy, commercial intermediary activities in Vietnam mainly existed in the international economic field. But in a multi-sectoral market economy, commercial intermediary activities, including the commercial agents had the chance to appear domestic and was legislated. Nowadays, commercial agents are playing an essential role. First is the definition of commercial agency, according to Article 166 of the Commercial Law 2005, commercial agency means a commercial activity whereby the principal and the agent agree that the agent, in its own name, sells or purchases goods for the principal or provides services of the principal to customers for remuneration. Article 169 of the Commercial Law 2005 illustrates forms of commercial agents: Off-take agency, exclusive agency, general goods sale or purchase or service provision agency, other forms of agency. For example, General Agent DAI-ICHI Hoang Mai, An An mattress agent, Exclusive agent in Quang Ninh - Thanh Hoa Stone Joint Stock Company, etc. Next, the multi-sectoral market economy has made the commercial agents quite popular in Vietnam. That is the reason why many people wonder about the procedure to establish a commercial agent. The first procedure is that the agent must choose the field of commercial activities. Agents need to be careful in this part because it will determine the selection of agents. An agent may enter into contracts with different principals but all of these principals can only work in the same field. For example, a paint agent can have many contracts with many paint companies such as Son Dong Tam, Son Dukan, Son Dulux, etc to diversify and enrich their products, but it cannot selling bricks, corrugated iron, etc. In the second procedure, the agent must be a trader and have a business registration. According to Clause 11 Article 3 of the Commercial Law 2005, commercial activities, including commercial agents, must be performed by traders. It means that individuals and organisations who want to become agents must administer commercial activities independently and regularly and then register business registration. If an individual or organisation does not have commercial activities before, it must determine the appropriate business type and get a business registration paper. As a final procedure, the agent and the principal must sign in a commercial agency contract. The agency contract must be in writing or another form with legal efficacy equivalent (telegraph, telex, fax, etc). The agreement should include some aspects such as the agency's goods or services, remuneration, contract duration, rights and obligations, compensation, etc. Another part, the commercial agents has an important role, especially in trade globalisation. Firstly, commercial agents bring productivity for traders in organising, distributing and consuming goods and services domestic and abroad. Principals usually are manufacturers, can have more opportunities to focus on producing high efficient products. The agent will bring them to customers in a professional manner. Secondly, the convenient distribution by commercial agents raises the development of the economy. In particular, it is recognised as a profitable business method for consumers with easy access to products and insurance about product quality and cost. The fourth part mentions comparing the regulations of commercial agents between Vietnam regulation and United Kingdom regulation. Firstly, the parties are still principals and agents, in which the agent plays an intermediary role in commercial activities. The agent is on behalf of the principals to trade products or services. Moreover, both Vietnam and the UK is eliminating some individuals and organisations that are not authorised to be agents. The rights and obligations of the parties are regulated by law. However, the regulations of the UK are mentioned more specific than in Vietnam. Because they are not only included in a provision but also appear in most relevant provisions. Other parts such as remuneration, time limit, termination, etc also mention by both countries but they are legislated in more detail in the UK regulation. In addition, the commercial agents in Vietnam are regulated in Commercial Law and also in many relevant legal documents. Do it is not as specific as the UK regulation which is The Commercial Agents (Council Directive) Regulation 1993. Finally, Vietnam law has the forms of commercial agents, but it does not appear in the UK's law and conversely, The UK regulation includes some provisions which Vietnam regulation does not such as apportionment of commission between new and previous commercial agents, etc. In summary, commercial agents are necessary for the advancement of the economy, especially in the period of world integration. So that knowledge about the commercial agents is meaningful for many activities.