The causes and the disadvantages of being self-employed

Many people choose to be self-employed instead of working for a company or an organization. I think there are several reasons behind it and disadvantages of being self-employed. Firstly, the job market nowadays isn't great globally and it's getting more and more difficult to get jobs for the majority of people especially new graduates. Some young people choose to freelance or set up their own business instead becase they cannot get a job. Secondly, working for a company and organization doesn't necessarily mean a good job anymore as of today. Full-time job positions at a company could be tiring and stressful. Depending on the companies and sectors, working in a big company involves fixed working hours and office politics, workers may suffer from burnout. Therefore, some might choose to be self-employed to lessen the working hours and get a better work-life balance. Lastly, being self-employed nowadays could lead to a successful business. We have seen many small self-owned businesses or start-ups become huge later. Those who have great business ideas may prefer to be self-employed so that they could focus on growing their own business in this case. However, the disadvantages of being self-employed are quite clear as well. First, not working for a company means there's no paycheck every month. Some people who have just started to be self-employed might end up not getting stable incomes. Also, a self-employed person loses access to health insurance and other benefits which usually are provided by companies. It is very likely that they need to pay for them by themselves instead. More importantly, self-employed people usually work on their own, with no one around. This would make them lose the chance to communicate with co-workers, and exchange ideas with them at a workplace, which is considered as an essential part of corporate life. They may feel bored and lonely eventually. This would affect one's mental health and cause depression in the worst scenario. In a conclusion, there are many reasons why many people choose to be self-employed. The disadvantages of being self-employed are quite obvious on the other hand.