The brightest star in the sky

Junjun is a sixth-grade girl living in Lan village, a tiny settlement in the countryside of Shanxi, Taiyuan China. She was a carefree, optimistic individual who devotes herself to her passions, like drawing, baking, dancing. But it all changed three years ago when a deadly tragedy struck her family. Her dad was a chef and was the family’s only source of income. One night, after heading home late from work on his bike, her father was the victim of a hit and run motor accident. Although he was soon sent to the hospital, his injuries proved fatal and he passed away shortly. It was a dark rainy night on a nameless road in the countryside and there were no cameras or witnesses of the collision, so it became increasingly hard for police to find out who was responsible. The only evidence was some chunks of coal lying beside the victim—suggesting it had been a coal truck. Junjun’s mom has a part-time job earning around 2000 yuan (400 CAD) per month, but cannot find extra work as she is also the primary caregiver for Junjun’s grandpa. Yet despite their tough situation, her mom still arranges 300 yuan per month for her painting class as Junjun has a talent and a passion for art. Junjun wants to pursue higher education and hopes that one day she can become an art teacher. However, an art teacher requires 3 years of college tuition, after the nine-year compulsory education, it is unlikely that her family will be able to afford her tuition. Every single penny we raise will be spent on her tuition, together, we can make a difference and help Junjun achieve her goal.