the biggest threat to the environment is that there are toomey people in the world

Some people believe that overpopulation is the greatest danger that the environment faces. I completely disagree with this point of view. There are a number of threats to the environment that are greater than simply population sizes. The first of these is air pollution, particularly pollution caused by the burning of fossil fuels, which is a direct contributor to climate change. This global increase in temperatures is expected to lead to increases in ocean surface levels, changes in weather patterns and the destruction of habitats which are vital to support various currently endangered species. Ultimately, this damage is a result, not of the number of people on the planet, but of the energy sources people are choosing to use. Another danger that exceeds that of overpopulation is plastics in our oceans. Currently, millions of tons of plastic are floating in our oceans, breaking down into microplastics which enter the food chain. Also, larger pieces of plastic are choking waterways and forming giant patches in our oceans, which is responsible for the deaths of many coastal birds and larger marine animals. However, this problem cannot be blamed on total population sizes as certain countries such as Japan have large populations but little plastic pollution due to their effective recycling programs. In conclusion, the greatest dangers to earth, climate change and damage from plastic, are due to human behavior rather than the total number of people in the world. Therefore, I believe that overpopulation is not the environment’s greatest threat.