The biggest thread to the environments is that there are too many people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people hold the view that an increasingly high number of people is the main threat to the environment. Although overpopulation might be a pressing problem in many countries, I am firm in my belief that it cannot be considered as the main threat to the environment. After the Second World War there has been a tremendous increase in population numbers around the world and coming to the 21st century, it has already exceeded 7 billion. This has led many experts in the field to producing discouraging forecasts and blurring fate of the mankind on earth in the next half of the century. However, I do not agree that overpopulation as an issue can cause environmental problems, rather human activity should be held accountable. To illustrate, one of the biggest environmental problems, global warming, has been largely caused by industrialization, urbanization and developed transport infrastructures, so simply blaming too many people for this is not a case. Although the population numbers in many countries have grown dramatically backed by the fact that only China and India's population account for almost a fifth of the world's total, mathematical calculations have revealed that all the humans could be placed efficiently in an average sized country. It means that many countries cannot deal with the increasing demand of so many people in resources, so they have to utilize vast lands for agriculture and drain the earths resources to develop the infrastructure and technology. Therefore, it would be logical to say that the never-ending demands of the mankind pose threats to the future of the environment. On balance, despite the fact that there are too many people on earth, simply blaming this for the environmental devastation could be viewed as a short-sighted opinion and concentrating on other factors would be wise.