The best way to reduce air pollution is for the government to raise the cost of fuel (petrol).

I agree that the time children spend on school work offers them more meaningful activities than their idle free time does. However, I also believe that children should be able to decide for themselves how to spend their free time. Children are at the best stage in life to gain knowledge, develop skills and form good learning and social habits. If this precious period is mainly spent on idle activities such as watching TV and playing video games, which are many children’s favourite hobbies, they will have to do much more to compete with their peers when they become adults. What can be worrying more about giving children too much free time is the increase in children’s behaviour problems. Nowadays, because parents often work long hours, the children who often spend time alone after school are more likely to suffer from loneliness and boredom, and develop anti-social behaviour. By contrast, not only does the school work include listening to lectures and writing reports, it also offers a wide range of interactive activities, such as group discussions and team presentations. These activities can improve children’s social and cooperative skills. On the other hand, I believe that children should be given enough freedom in deciding how to use their free time. The skill of managing time properly is as important as doing academic exercises. Providing children with the right to choose what they do after school will also develop their sense of responsibility. With advice from parents and teachers, children can choose meaningful activities for their free time, including art projects, sports and volunteer work. In conclusion, I think that students should be encouraged to spend more time on school work. At the same time, they should be given guidance about how to use their free time properly.