“The best way to learn English is to study with native teachers. ” What do you think about this opinion?

As an international language, English already dominates the world and mastery in English directly influence academic performance, career development, and communication skill of a person. From this regard, people around the world learn this language and whether learning it from a native mentor is the best approach is controversial. Though direct guidance of a native English teacher can be of great help, I do not consider it the best approach as there are other better methods to learn this language. To begin with, a teacher from an English-speaking country use the language in his daily like and know the context of a word, phrase and grammatical rule. Since command of a language requires more than learning the syntax, a teacher from a country like the UK can guide a student to learn about the practical use of the language and can correct the student in an effective manner. For instance, most of the non-native students who pursue their university education in an English-speaking country become better users of English from the guideline they get from native-teachers. However, mentorship from the native tutors is one of the ways to be fluent in English, not the best way. Self-study, exposure to the English-speaking people and their cultures, online language courses, devotion and extensive reading habits can be more effective to be a good user of English. For instance, millions of self-made writers, journalists and interpreters have had no access to English teachers. Furthermore, passion to learn a language can often make someone versed in the language as these people invest a great deal of time to learn it from books and online resources. To cite an example, I studied in a school where roughly one in five students was from English-speaking countries but most of the composition contest prizes went to non-natives. To conclude, having a teacher who is from an English-speaking country is undeniably a great way to have better exposure to the language but this is not the finest way to become versed in English. Self-study, passion and digital resources can be more helpful in most of the cases as per my experience so far.