The best way to ensure the growth of children is to make parents take parenting courses.

In recent years, whether parents should receive training on raising children or not is a heated debate. Personally, parents can derive numerous benefits from parental courses; however, it is not an optimum choice for the upbringing of children. Therefore, I agree with the statement to a certain extent. On the one hand, parental courses bring various advantages to parents. Firstly, these courses provide basic knowledge about caring skills from well-trained experts, and parents can exchange advice and helpful information to each other. Secondly, parents have opportunities to practise essential skills before having a baby, which may ensure their preparedness. For example, moms are trained to use diapers, change the kid’s clothes or the way to stop their baby from crying. On the other hand, it is inessential to undergo parenting training sessions. Firstly, in the Information Age, people can have an unlimited access to knowledge about rearing kids from websites and a multitude of books. Secondly, parenting cannot be taught as a subject because it is instinctive and spontaneous. The personality of each child is different, thus trying to impose a standardized rule of parenting may lead to negative effects. For instance, for introverted kids, parents should support their hobbies such as reading books and drawing instead of forcing them to join outdoor activities. In conclusion, despite the advantages of parental courses, it is not the most effective way to rear children. My view is that parents should spend more time with their children to understand them, which enables them to have the most beneficial method for parenting.