the best was to improve society

The prompt states that the foremost way of improving leadership in several fields like government and industries is by instilling a sense of cooperation instead of competition in the minds of young people. In the modern world, conciliation among people of different beliefs has become cardinal to move forward. However, eliminating competition is also deleterious for society and without it, the progression of a society may not be possible. First of all, societies throughout the world, are diverse and consist of people of several cultures and beliefs. It is common to see progress being hampered when people oppose each other rather than seeking a middle ground. Take, for instance, the United States Senate, which is currently split between two political parties with divergent views on every pertinent topic. If the Senators were to pursue only partisan policies and not cooperate with the other political party passage of policies and laws would be impossible. It is due to certain Senators who prioritize bi-partisanship and cross party lines, that make it possible for the passage of new policies meant for the improvement of the nation. Therefore, if young people are encouraged to prioritize cooperation rather than the competition then it is possible to resolve issues plaguing modern societies. However, even though competition may harm individuals in the sense of always trying to defeat others, it improves various services and products. In the case of private firms, if they were not competing with each other, new products and services would not be developed. Without competition, companies would have a monopoly and would not work on improving their services or bringing down costs for consumers. For instance, insurance companies, are forever competing with each other and this helps people in getting better insurance prices. Airline companies have to compete with each other and this helps keep the cost of airplane tickets low. On the other hand, if people companies resorted to cooperating with each other and eliminated competition from businesses they could set their own terms and conditions and it would certainly not benefit society. Further, in politics, if no competition existed among two candidates for President then it would not lead to any new ideas or policies to resolve the predicaments faced by a nation. It is due to competing ingenuity that people are able to choose their leaders and reflect it in a nation's development. Furthermore, in the field of academics and research, it is not possible to reach development without any sense of competition. If researchers were to share their patent ideas or their research results with everyone, then it will little to do to advance any theory. It is due to competition among researchers and a sense of proving others' theories wrong that leads to the postulation of augmented theories. For instance, pharmaceutical companies are always investing heavily in the research and development of new drugs. It is due to competition among several pharma companies that new medicines become available relatively quickly. In academics, students perform well only if a sense of competition is instilled in a classroom. Students want to perform better so that they can rank higher in the class. This leads to better education and prepares them for the future world filled with people wanting to get ahead. In the final, analysis even though cooperation seems to be better for a society, it is competition among individuals that truly makes it possible for a society to move forwards.