Public Services of Uzbekistan: Meritocratic principles on practice.

When any government aims to build strong political machinery which is optimal, works efficiently and targets a specific goal, the government needs to establish a system that is fair for every citizen. Any development and public reform will remain as theory on paper until there is a limited number of well-qualified specialists with strong vision and motivation. The responsibility of managing and developing Human Resources is given to the Agency for the Development of Public Service Under the President of the Republic of Uzbekistan. Further improvement of the well-developed solid legal framework governing the activities of public administration bodies, rational distribution of duties, powers and responsibilities between structures, setting specific qualification requirements based on each level of position, uniform, open and transparent access to civil service for all Achieving access to public service through a transparent mechanism, educating, training, retraining, gradual promotion, decent pay, protection of legitimate interests are among the issues facing us. There are initial achievements on the system that is established by the agency. Currently, more than 30 ministries and organizations as well as their regional branches connected to the Agency’s website https: //vacancy. argos. uz/ and they fully transferred to the system of hiring employees by open job competitions. In Kashkadarya region, until now 184 vacancies of governmental organizations and their branches were announced. Around 1500 citizens participated in these open competitions. Amongst these candidates, 90 of them were chosen as a winner due to their strong knowledge, academic background, work experience and qualification by the commissions of the job competitions. Citizens who are considered as a person in need and entered the " Yoshlar daftari" which means "Youth copybook", took part in such competitions and were chosen as a winner and started their career from prestigious organizations such as hakimiyat, ministries and their regional branches and so on. According to the results of the competitions, B. Tutashov was chosen as the most suitable candidate for the leading specialist of Guzar district khokimiyat. In addition, other citizens, A. Muhammadiyev and A. Kadirov, hired by the Ministry of Agriculture of the Republic of Uzbekistan. Many examples can be shown in this field. Currently, sixty vacancies on the process while 40 vacancies of the ministries, hakimiyats and organizations such as Koson region hakimiyat, Guzor region Hokimiyat, Muborak region hakimiyat and Shakhrisabz city hakimiyat, a regional branch of Ministry of Public Education, regional branch of Ministry of Preschool education, regional branch of Ministry of Finance, regional branch of Ministry of culture, a regional branch of Ministry of Employment and Labor Relations and others. Around 1300 citizens are going to check their knowledge by taking part in competitions. Simply saying, a target of the competitions on vacancies is giving equal chances to both citizens who live in very far villages and cities of Uzbekistan and who live in city centres. Another aim of this project is to attract more well-qualified, motivated and knowledgeable specialists to the Public services and enhancing the reputation of Public Services. Authors: Tuychi Yokubov – Deputy Chief of Kashkadarya regional branch of Agency for the Development of Public Service Under the President of the Republic of Uzbekistan Aziza Saidova- inspector of Kashkadarya regional branch of Agency for the Development of Public Service Under the President of the Republic of Uzbekistan