Many villages in Italy pay to 'recruit' people to live

The Calabrian regional government plans to provide $33, 000 for up to three years to those willing to move to villages with a population of 2, 000. Some of those villages are Civita, Samo & Precacore, Bova, Caccuri, Albidona, Sant'Agata del Bianco, Santa Severina. . . These are all places known for their "pictured" scenery. Accordingly, each month new residents will receive support from 950 to 1, 200 USD. To receive the subsidy, visitors must either commit to opening a shop here for business or complying with a town requirement. Newcomers can also receive a separate grant to start a business with items such as motels, restaurants, bars, farms. . . The applicant must also register to reside in the village, and be no more than 40 years old. They must be ready to move immediately to the Calabria region to live within 90 days of their application being approved. The villagers hope the offer will attract young people. The purpose of this plan is to increase the population of villages that are becoming less and less populated. Currently, more than 75% of the towns in Calabria, have less than 5, 000 inhabitants. This has led to concerns that some indigenous communities may disappear unless there is more population growth. Gianluca Gallo, regional councilor, said the plan to attract newcomers has received great interest from the villages. He hopes the plan will start to kick in in the coming years. Italian officials say the scheme works better than selling homes for just over a dollar as before. "We see this as a test of social inclusion. We want to attract people to live in the area, enjoy the natural surroundings, and exploit unused sites in the village. " The open registration process for visitors to participate is expected to roll out online in the next few weeks. When global tourism activities resume after the pandemic and Italy welcomes a return of tourists, As before, visiting these villages in the summer is a true way to get a taste of the village life of this region.