The best test of an argument is the argument's ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Not everyone in this world have same thought process. People have different beliefs, which affects the way they think. Different cultures establishes different ideologies and a provides a way to grow by shring those ideologies with fellow humans. Sometimes having different views may result in something beneficiant, or may result in disaster, it all depends on the way the two opposing parties interpret contradicting views. These contradictory views tend to cause an argument. Argument occur when two individuals or groups fight for what they feel is right. Every cogent argument always persuades the opposition in changing his views. An futile argument is just a waste of energy, following are the three reasons for that. What's the point in arguing when you are not able to persuade someone? People argue when they have conviction their views, they feel that nothing except what they believe is right. Well what if the argument fails in changing the oppositions views? It definitely won't be called as the best argument. The point of arguing with someone is to convince him that what he thinks is wrong. For example: a lawyer will not take a case if they feel that the eveidence is not enough to defend the indicted. Why? Because that will be a waste of his time and energy as he knows that he won't be able to convince the judge to exculpate the felon. There is only one purpose behind arguing that is to change the viewpoint of the opposing. When one knows one cannot achieve that purpose one should not argue. Even though the argument is based on fallacious evidence, it would still be regarded as a good argument if it is convincing. Lawyers are the epitome, when it comes to arguments. A lawyer defending a murdered, if does a good job, could free the felon from lifetime imprisonment or maybe death sentence. Although he is supporting a bad guy, to win he would require to produce a cogent case. In the end, if he is successful in convincing the judge or the jury about the murderer's innocence, his argument would be regarded as the better one. So it proves that the best arguments always convince any person with opposing views.