The best manager is the one who is friendly and warm to his staff.

Manager of an enterprise can be seen as medium between the staff and the leading members of that company. It is said that he is perfect at his craft if he can maintain a cordial relationship with his team mates. According to my point of view, this quality alone is not sufficient to be the best. The following paragraphs would elaborate my opinion. To begin with, if a supervisor is amicable with his team, this will ease the work environment and hence make the staff involve easily with him. Thus every instruction given by him will be followed without any discussions among them. For example, if a boss has a good relationship with an employee he can ask for overtime in an emergency without any hesitation. Thus he can use his goodwill in such situations. However, if the dose of intimacy exceeds a little, this may be taken as an advantage by the employee and there may be a chance of misuse. As a result, this will be taken as a his inability in handing the responsibilities by the company authorities. This may give him a bad name. For instance, there is chance that an employee may take a leave without prior intimation just by thinking that he can call his manager any time as he is so close. To recapitulate, there are pros and cons in being too friendly with team for a team leader. I opine that a manager is declared to be most efficient only if he can manage his staff well by being friendly and being responsible at times required.