The benefits of participating in social community services for university students.

Social community services are one of the most controversial topics among parents. Some are very encouraging their child to participate in volunteering while some are not. Most people thoughts that doing this kind of activity is a waste of time as they do it without getting paid. However, research has been made that doing community services can give a long-term benefit, especially for university students. Three benefits that can be listed are, it helps to improve skills, helps to raise social awareness, and helps to build a friendship. Having many skills are very important for everyone especially the students. It has been proven that social welfare helps to improve one’s ability in doing leadership, communication skills, teamwork, and many more. Students who decided to leave their comfort zone and socialize to improve their skills will usually have much higher chances to achieve what they wanted in the future. Thus, the perfect way to improve students’ ability while having fun is by doing community services. Secondly, community services help to expose the students to what community they live in. Of course, there are lots of articles talking about the sad life of humans. However, reading from an article is different from experiencing the situation by oneself. Therefore, doing volunteering can deepen the understanding of students on how things go in real life, and this will help to raise their awareness to help more people in need in the future. Rationally, doing community services allows the students to meet many types of people. The best way to deepen the friendship is by doing fun activities together. Having many friends are great as we can understand more about different people’s perspective. This can make the students more mature when dealing with different types of people. In conclusion, doing community services have many benefits. Everyone, especially the parents should encourage their child to take part in volunteering. Even when applying for scholarships or jobs, most of them ask what types of community services they have contributed so far.