The average British child between the age of 4 and 14 watches more than 20 hours of television per week. Studies show that she/ he only spends about 7 hours per week on physical exercise. How is this situation compared with your country? How can parents make sure that children get enough exercise? Give reasons for your answer

Our global Diaspora is broadly segregated into two halves, the oriental and the occidental countries. So, there are bound to be differences/ disparities on the social, economical and cultural front as well. Children of the developed nations like Britain have access to television and spend a major chunk of their time in front of the same. But the situation is entirely different in developing nations like mine. Ever since the time the technological development took place in the 20th century, there have been immense changes in the lifestyle of people. They have access to modern sources of entertainment. As far as the situation in our country is concerned, the majority of the population is living below the poverty line. The modern gadgets and gizmos are still behind their reach. The children living in Indian villages and small towns are involved in several outdoor activities to entertain themselves. For example, traditional games like ‘marbles’, ‘kabaddi’, ‘kho-kho’ etc. At the same time, the trend is gradually undergoing a change in the metropolitan cities of our nation. With the advent of the satellite technology, there has been a spate of new equipments and gadgets. The children of affluent families, big guns and other rank and file are falling prey to the lure of the idiot box. Like their British counterparts, they are getting involved in sedentary activities like watching television and turning to couch potatoes. This is wrecking havoc on their health and leading to various lifestyle diseases like obesity, diabetes etc. As far as the parents are concerned, they are the first teachers of a child. Moreover, modern era is an era of stress and strain, struggle and strife. So, they do not have time for their children. But they should realize that children are like wet cement and whatever falls on them makes a deep impression on their mind. Children are what we make them. Parents should encourage children to take up some or the other sport at an early age. Besides this, they should check the number of hours their children watch television and play with them to encourage physical movement. To conclude, we can say that there is no doubt about the fact that technological equipments are ruling the roost today but it is only through the dedicated and diligent efforts of the parents that we can solve this grave problem and take our society to the epitome of perfection and make it a healthier place for our children.