The application of treated wastewater for irrigation purposes is a common practice in practice globally especially, in peri-urban areas located in the vicinity of developed cities.

The application of treated wastewater for irrigation purposes is a common practice in practice globally especially, in peri-urban areas located in the vicinity of developed cities. A field study was conducted during two consecutive cycles of maize (Zea mays L. ) -wheat (Triticum aestivum L. ) within the Yangling District Northwest China to evaluate the effects of different water treatments practices on plant growth performance, physiological parameters, and yield. Four treatments were evaluated: (1) the domestic sewage (DS), second sediment tank (SST), treated wastewater (TWW), and freshwater (FW). All treated wastewater significantly improved plant growth parameters, chlorophyll content, and grain yield of maize and wheat in comparison to FW. The result showed that irrigation with TWW did not significantly increase the stomatal conductance (Gs), transpiration rate (Tr), and leaf water use efficiency (WUEleaf), and the photosynthetic rate (Pn) after the jointing stage, in comparison to FW treatment. The study indicates that the proposed treated wastewater had a high nutritive value that improves soil fertilizer and can be used to promote the growth and yield of maize-wheat.