The amount of time spent on sport and exercise should be increased in schools in order to tackle overweight children? Do you think this is the best way to deal with the problem? What other solutions can you suggest

It is the opinion of many that the solution for tackling obesity among children is increased sport and exercise. It is my opinion that increasing the number of hours is not the best solution for dealing with obesity in childhood since the reasons for obesity is different and other solutions must also be considered. Obesity is caused by various reasons such as genetics and behavior. It is a complex health issue that has posed challenges in discovering effective treatments. Firstly, one of the primary reasons for children suffering from obesity due to a lack of exercise. In such cases, the introduction of increased hours of sport and exercise will be an effective solution in preventing obesity among children. Secondly, since there are multiple causes of obesity, a general solution is not effective. If obesity is genetic, increased physical exertion does not present an effective solution. Thirdly, diet is a cause for obesity as consumption of junk food can also result in obesity. The introduction of increased hours of exercise will help a proportion of obese children. In addition to this, the importance of a proper diet must also be inculcated amongst the kids. The schoolchildren must be educated to reduce fatty and sugary foods and increase foods rich in fiber in their diets. There is also a need to educate parents and their wards about the effects of obesity to ensure more awareness. To conclude, increasing the time for sport and exercise is one of the solutions to preventing and dealing with obesity among youngsters. However, since there are multiple causes for obesity, a single solution does not fit all, even among children. Other solutions such as a proper diet must also be incorporated to tackle obesity among schoolchildren.