the advantages of social media

Social media has played a big role in today’s life. In recent years, many online platforms or applications such as Twitter, Instagram, etc… where people can share their stories, pictures or thoughts with others have grown tremendously, especially Facebook, which now has over 2, 7 billion users. The widespread use of social media, in my opinion, has resulted in a number of advantages that have made our lives better and easier. First and foremost, one of the most important benefits of social media is reducing communication boundaries. It has allowed us to stay in touch easily with friends and relatives regardless of geographical locations. For example, students studying abroad or people working far away from home can use Skype, Messenger, or other applications’ video calling functions to keep in touch with their families and friends. Furthermore, social media can help people make some new friends all over the world. Distance is no longer an obstacle. In addition, social media has become a wonderful place for businesses to promote their brands. They can easily use social media to successfully and efficiently accelerate their brands and receive a massive amount of engagement. For instance, nowadays they can keep their customers updated regarding newly-released products or promotions by publishing their campaigns on Facebook or Instagram, which saves a great deal of time and allows them to reach out new customers. Moreover, through social media, they may better understand the needs of their customers well, which makes their companies become more and more successful. On the other hand, despite the benefits mentioned previously, some people believe that social media still have some drawbacks. Many people, especially teenagers nowadays, spend too much time on social media, which is not only time-wasting but also harmful to their health and gradually forms the sedentary lifestyle among the youngsters. Furthermore, leaking personal information is one of the most important issues that people have to take into account. That is the reason why people should use social media wisely to avoid such things. In conclusion, I believe that social media have provided us with numerous advantages. In order to use social media efficiently, all we need to do is concentrate on positive aspects while attempting to limit the negative ones.