THE ADVANTAGES AND DISADVANTAGES OF STUDYING ABROAD

On the one hand, there are several benefits of studying abroad. Firstly, students who study abroad can have an independent living because of living far away from their family. For example, international students usually have to live alone and far from family, so they need to cook, do household chores, take care of themselves. As a result, oversea students can deal with new problems without help from family. In addition, learners can discover a new country since they may access new culture, local food through local people. If learners go abroad for study, they will have a deeper understanding about new cultures. On the other hand, studying abroad brings some drawbacks. The first thing is homesickness because of being away from home. If students feel very homesick and miss their families, they might be depressed and have psychological problems. Furthermore, some students experience culture shock because of the different cultures. This leads to difficulty to integrate themselves into a different culture.