Technology in schools over the last years and the damages which is causing in children

Technology is a group of abilities, methods, and the applications of scientific knowledge for practical purposes. The technology is used all around the world at work, in businesses, schools, even at home, but it depends on where and how we use it, and the final purpose the institution has. The new technological advances that we have been looking through the past years in our country, is that technology has affected each kid in different ways. How technology is affecting children and how can schools help them to deal with this problem? Nowadays, children are accustomed to search for all types of information on the internet, and easily find millions of websites with different opinions and points of views. They have affected these new generations tremendously. In previous generations, society was accustomed to take notes and to listen to what the teacher had prepared for them. The students were used to have a closer relationship with their teachers, they only had contact with them at school and there were no special treatments. At this moment, with this new educational model the students and teachers relationship has become more open. The teachers have created spaces to have contact with their students at any time, which results in the possibility to solve doubts, explain academic issues and explain topics privately. Something positive about using technology at school is that the actual learners have a more open way of thinking and they have different opinions, from the ones schools or government want them to have. A few years ago, to be able to learn certain topics you had to go to a library, and sometimes it was very difficult to have access to them, if your school did not have one, later on you had to look for a book or encyclopedia that might help you find the information you were looking for. Nowadays, we only need to have access to the internet to get the information we are looking for. Since birth, parents have taught us how to use the technology, and most of the children no longer use toys, they use tablets and they watch more television than reading. In consequence, these generations of scholars find really difficult to search for information in either a book or encyclopedia. Some schools have chosen to introduce this new way of teaching with the use of different apps, multimedia lessons, online activities, etc. In order to develop new skills and to introduce them to this new technological world. Using technology can often produce psychological, social and health problems in students, such as isolation, depression, eye damages, and activity sleep. Kids have mental damages, like low academic performance, low creativity, delays in languages, social and emotional development, among many other problems. In conclusion technology is affecting children a lot, schools must take into consideration the student's education, they need to help them develop different skills and abilities so in future they will be capable of many things, they must teach them how to find information in books and encyclopedias as well as to use diverse applications and websites since our today's world depend a lot on the development of technology