Competitive sports play an important role in the school curriculum

It is of the opinion that games requiring competitive spirit for teams and individuals no longer play a crucial part in the educational program at school. Personally, I completely disagree with this viewpoint for a variety of reasons. The first reason is that playing competitive sports is an excellent method to improve both students’ mental and physical wellness. When pupils take up sports activities, they not only burn excess fat to help them maintain their healthy body and their good figure, but they also gain energy from those sports, which promotes them to broaden their minds and release their stress. According to expert evidence in health problems, for example, that a multitude of students participating in activities, which makes them perspire, all have refreshed feelings and complete peace of mind enables them to resolve issues and gain the knowledge more quickly and easily than ever. This indicates that playing sports has a positive effect on students’ development in learning process and itself affirms its role in the school curriculum. In addition, competitive sports teach schoolboys and schoolgirls about actual sportsmanship. Through these competing activities, students can learn that fair play is more important than victory and know how to compete with a nice competitive attitude. For instance, when a school organizes a sports competition among students on an occasion, the fact that pupils have to cooperate and find out about each other causes them to see that this is an opportunity for them to unwind and interact with one another rather than scramble for awards and rankings and to be more concerned about what skills they can gain throughout the competition like teamwork skills, analytical skills and leading skills. Hence, they will take part in the activity based on certain criteria such as happiness, fairness and wholeheartedness. All things considered, that physical activities have a substantial number of positive elements to each student leads to its incontrovertible importance in the core curriculum.