The advantages and disadvantages of having a gap year between leaving school and starting university to work or earn money

Nowadays, instead of going to the university right after high school graduation, many youngsters choose to take a gap year. This way may be new in Vietnam but it has become really popular in many countries. Like other things, taking a gap year has its both advantages and disadvantages which is also the main topic of this essay. To begin with, about the advantages, taking a gap year is a great opportunity for youngsters to know themselves better. In high school, students hardly have a lot of chances to experience, therefore, they usually waver a lot when choosing their career. In many countries, youngsters are encouraged to take a year off to work, travel or join in voluntary work, which has become a compulsory condition to enter some famous universities. When taking a gap year, you will have more time to explore the world as well as try plenty of new things that you have never tried before. This will help you to find your real passion, which is the foundation stone of a fulfilling career. For instance, data from Harvard University, 2010, pointed out that the drop-out rate from university courses is around 10 percent less in those children who chose the course after taking a “gap year” in comparison to those who headed straight to university after high school. Moreover, it is also a great opportunity for youngsters to learn many life skills through those invaluable experiences in gap year such as time management skills, communication skills, financial management skills and so on. On the contrary, taking a gap year also has some disadvantages. A gap year can be useless if you don't have a detailed plan including what you're gonna do to earn for your living, what activities you're gonna join in as well as setting some goals that you have to achieve after your gap year is finished. Financial burden can be a big deal for youngsters who don't have any work experience. There will be plenty of difficulties that only the one who has firm stuff can get through. However, when you can get over this hard time, those experiences you have will be really useful. In conclusion, I think taking a gap year will provide us many helpful things for our life if you have a plan and are ready to deal with difficulties without hesitation.