the advantage and disadvantage of large family in the past

Many years ago, a family usually had more than one generation and many children living together. Families in the modern life are smaller than in the past. A large family has many advantages and disadvantages. First of all, the big family had joyful atmosphere where members could share their happiness and sorrows. They could receive many suggestion, good advice from older generation that helped they made a good decision to solve their problems. They were never alone. Secondly, the children who were in a family can protect each other when they got troubled in their life. Although, sometimes, they quarreled, they studied how to control the emotion. In addition, the eldest child would be took care of siblings while adults were working. It helped parents save a bit money when they didn’t need to hire anyone to look after their children or grandparents. I think the finance became a big problem when they had got a large family. The bread-winners had to budget their money so that every members had enough food and clothes to live. The parents could not take care of all their children because they needed to take time to do a lot of works. Moreover, children had to share bedroom with their brother and sister. It was very hard when they needed private place. As for me, the benefits of large family were greater than the drawbacks. People who had big family always know what the sharing is. They knew how to protect and supported each other when they got troubles in life.