Do you agree or disagree that violent media is the main cause of violence among young people?

Douglas Keiter once named media «a fourth power after legislative, executive and judicial», which really makes think about its huge impact on society. Every day we being influenced by media on our personal opinion, views of life, habits and social behavior, without even noticing it. Especially it effects on young people, whom all of the above haven’t formed yet. I agree with an opinion that violent media is the main cause of violence among young people, because their character traits and moral values are not yet fully formed, so they are easily amenable to external interference. Firstly, the content of media has a huge impact on the child’s character traits. He hasn’t formed his own yet, so he might take an example of social behavior from virtual characters or idols. Children have the quality to easily absorb some character traits/actions, thereby they taking the aggressive behavior patterns of the characters. In 2012, the Media Violence Commission of the International Society for Research on Aggression (ISRA) in its report on media violence said, “Over the past 50 years, a large number of studies conducted around the world have shown that watching violent television, watching violent films, or playing violent video games increases the likelihood for aggressive behavior”. That’s why I believe that young people whom character traits and behavior haven’t formed yet, may adopt examples of aggressive manner from violent media. Secondly, young people have immature concepts of morality, because of lack of life experience and knowledge. Child’s concepts of “good” and “bad” are vague and while watching movies or TV programs usually they can’t distinguish the virtual world from actual reality. Numerous scenes with cruelty from movies or videogames has an impact on the child’s psychic, giving an incorrect vision of the normal social behavior, which may happen due to a weak moral compass and vague concepts of ethics. It also morally suppresses a young person, making him more insensitive and depressive. In a 2009 Policy Statement on Media Violence, the American Academy of Pediatrics said, “Extensive research evidence indicates that media violence can contribute to aggressive behavior, desensitization to violence, nightmares, and fear of being harmed. ” That’s why in my opinion, child may adopt some aggressive traits and behavior from violent media because of weak concepts of morality and values. Summing up all these ideas, I can conclude, that media is literally a propaganda of generally accepted opinions and views of life, the influence of what we are unknowingly exposed every day. For young children such impact can be extremely harmful, because they do not know how to filter all this infinitely coming information yet and this puts them in vulnerable position. I believe that parents have to control the content of media their child is watching and make limitations about it, not only for the well-being of their child, but also for the safety of the whole society.