Tenenage offenders must not be punished the same way as adults.

Nowadays we are facing various crimes, offences and people who commit them. Some people believe that teenagers, due to their age, should be responsible for their actions in a completely different way than adults. I strongly disagree with this statement. This essay will explain my point of view. First of all, teenagers are already obliged to understand what they can do and what they cannot. They are at an age when they can already make decisions by themselves and understand what consequences they may have. That means that if they decide to do something illegal then they need to be punished in the same way as adults are punished. Second of all, if they do not realize the seriousness of what they are doing at an early age, then it will only get worse in the future. Teenagers should realize that for every offence there is a punishment, its severity depends on what they have done. If this is not explained to them, they will grow up with the idea that they can do anything, and in the future their actions may be much worse. In conclusion I can say that teenagers are people with conscious thinking, they have to understand what can be for their wrong actions. That is why they should be punished exactly to the same extent as adults in order to understand the seriousness.