Tell us about your leadership, extracurricular, and social-cultural activities. Why have you chosen these activities and how have these experiences developed your skills, leadership and character?

I applied for the students council in my first year as I want to upgrade and refine my skills in organization and communication. I was selected to become one of the division of state defence alongside two other people. We managed to create 5 programs, which I led 2 and assisted on the other 3 programs. I conducted several meetings and thoroughly discussed activities and budgeting. From this experience, I improved my organization and leadership skills and the friends I made on the journey taught me the importance of collaboration and support. In the next period, I took on a leadership role and managed to become the co-vice president. Along with the triumvirate, we created programs that increase other student’s creativity and interpersonal skills. We also collaborated with the student council from other schools and exchanged ideas along with building connections. After each event, we did an evaluation to discuss difficulties and to improve our performance. I constantly self-reflect as I want to continue to upgrade myself. The student council has had a huge impact on my character development and I can not be thankful enough for the experience. Other than organization, I enjoy reading about social issues, especially regarding gender based problems and economy. This led me to make a research on catcalling as a form of verbal sexual harrasment, seeing as it happens all the time but majority of Indonesians thinks that it is a normal interaction or even compliment. I participated in KoPSI, an Indonesian students research competition and managed to become one of the finalists. I am proud to have brought up this issue and willing to further my research on it. I believe my journey through this competition has opened my perspective more about topics around gender and has increased my critical thinking.