Tell me about yourself, what do you do.

I am a graduate of Nursing Science from the Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso, Oyo State, Nigeria, a Registered Nurse/ Midwife. I have over ten year’s progressive work experience both in hospitals and clinic settings. I believe my combination of teamwork, interpersonal, health education counseling and communication skills will make me a successful addition to your team. Working as part of an interdisciplinary team at both SHELL health and the University of Lagos, I address a wide range of clinical issues facing patients of all ages. My clinical experience/training enables me to manage conditions such as diabetes, hypertension, sexual health counseling and implement a healthy immunization program to name a few. I work closely with Physicians on treatment plans and refer patients who need ongoing specialized or emergency care including medical evacuations, and hospitalization. At the University of Lagos Teaching Hospital Initiative (Accident and Emergency), I helped in triaging patients, conducting patient interviews, and proposing diagnosis. These experiences have taught me how to address patients and their families professionally and respectfully, discuss their concerns and manage their frustrations. What I cherish most about my role as a nurse is working in collaboration with other health professionals, patients, and families to address complex health issues with both clinical and educational tools. My professional goals include working in a clinic setting, helping the missions employees and their family members to realize better health outcomes. The opportunity to apply my skills and experiences at the Consulate General, Lagos is an exhilarating prospect.