Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and, as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Advertising is a powerful tool for communicating with a large audience. It is argued that business spend a huge amount of money for marketing and promotion which in turn results in people buying their product. This essay will discuss the problems caused by this and also suggest solutions to increase the sales of local products. To begin with, large businesses spend huge amount of money in marketing and promoting their products which results in local products losing its demand. To prove, the large business has big budgets and they offer huge discounts which in turn attracts the buyers. For instance, products like Colgate has aggressive marketing techniques and promotions and therefore has a wider reach as compared to local tooth paste such as Meswak. However, some primary steps can be taken to encourage people to buy local products. Firstly, the government should take initiatives for bringing a change in the mindset of customers. To prove, awareness campaigns and promotions of local products by the government can help in bringing shift in preference. For example, campaigns like made in India had a huge impact in the country and it has increased the business of local products to a large extent. Secondly, local businesses can use social media as a platform to market and advertise their products. To prove, these days people spend most of their time on social media and is greatly influenced by them. Thus marketing through this medium helps local businesses to promote their product free ofcost. To conclude, the marketing and promotion done by large business attract customers to buy their product. However, government initiatives and proper use of technology can help local business to increase sales.