Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed

Nowadays, big companies spend a fortune on advertisements which in part involve young children. Some parents believe television advertisements that are directed towards young children should not be allowed. However, others state that television advertisements should not be limited by audiences’ age range. Personally, I think there must be a rule that limits advertisements that target children at their early age. In what follows, I explore the reasons which support my stance. First, by creating advertisements for young children, they tend to spend more time watching television. These days, Parents are busy with their careers and do not have adequate time to dedicate to their children. Hence, they use television programs to educate their children. Thus, young kids watch television more than they should, and since advertisements are attractive, they encourage kids to watch television even more. Second, not all advertisements are appropriate for young children, and consequently, they may develop poor behavior. Young children between two to five years old consist a large portion of television audiences. As a result, many companies try to target this specific age group. And to do so, they may use contents that are inappropriate to them. While they still cannot fully comprehend the differences between good or bad, they are prone to learn behaviors. In conclusion, there should be a law that prevents advertisements that target young children. They force young children to spend more time watching television. Furthermore, such advertisements may not be suitable for young children and expose them to unacceptable behavior.